General Assembly | Flanders Marine Institute

Flanders Marine Institute

Platform for marine research

General Assembly

The General Assembly consists of the effective or voting members of VLIZ, who control the institution’s policy through this highest ruling organ. The General Assembly is convened at least once a year and presided by the chairman of the Board of Directors.

The competences of the General Assembly as well as information on the meetings and voting procedure can be found in the VLIZ Good Governance Charter.

The General Assembly is currently composed as follows:  

  • Carl Decaluwé, governor of West Flanders, is the chairman.
  • The ten voting members appointed by the Flemish government are:
  • The four voting members appointed by the province of West Flanders are:
    • Claude Croes, member of the Provincial Council
    • Patrick Declerck, member of the Provincial Council
    • Anthony Dumarey, member of the Provincial Council
    • Regis Debrulle, Provincial Treasurer
    • Jan Denys, principal of the Mercator Maritime Institute
  • The member appointed by the Research Foundation – Flanders (FWO) is:
    • Hans Willems, secretary general of the Research Foundation – Flanders
  • The members of the Board of Directors of VLIZ have the right to attend the General Assembly with an advisory vote.