Governing Board | Flanders Marine Institute

Flanders Marine Institute

Platform for marine research

Governing Board

VLIZ is administered by the Governing Board, composed of 12 members, deciding on all matters not expressly reserved for the General Assembly. The Board of Directors is convened at least twice a year at the invitation of the chairman.

In accordance with the articles of association, two mandates in the Governing Board are reserved for representatives of the province of West Flanders and eight mandates are reserved for representatives of the Flemish government. The Governing Board is assisted by an executive committee and establishes several committees internally.

The tasks and operation of the Governing Board as well as the appointment and qualifications of its members can be found in the VLIZ Good Governance Charter.

The Governing Board is currently composed as follows:

  • The eight members nominated by the Flemish government are:
    • Carl Decaluwé, governor of West Flanders, chairman
    • Mark Andries, administrator-general VLAIO
    • Daphné Dumery, mayor Blankenberge
    • Romina Vanhooren, deputy chief of staff, general policy, Office Sven Gatz, councillor Oudenburg
    • Wouter Vanlouwe, councillor Veurne
    • Charlotte Verkeyn, councillor Oostende

  • The two members nominated by the province of West Flanders are:  

  • The three other members are:
  • The government commissioners are:
  • Attend the meetings:  
    • Gert Verreet, Department of Economy, Science and Innovation
    • Regis Debrulle, province of West Flanders, financial manager
    • Jan Mees, General Director VLIZ
    • Tina Mertens, Assistant Director VLIZ
    • Heidi Coussens, contact and executive secretary VLIZ